Ultrarunning around the world – show this Tuesday at Char’s Landing, Port Alberni

Me, on a 5-day race in India. (Ack, the kids are beating me!)

Me, on a 5-day race in India. (Ack, the kids are beating me!)

Hey! We know we have readers from around the world – and a big hello to you all. But this is a special post aimed at the locals. If you are one of our local Port Alberni readers, I just want to tell you about the slide show and talk about ultramarathon running that Dave and I will be doing this Tuesday at Char’s Landing.

I only got into running in my early 40s (I’m 50 now – will be 51 in a week). I did my first ultramarathon…. well, I should say “attempted” my first ultramarathon at age 43 – a 6-day, 230 km run in Costa Rica. I had only run my first marathon only 3 months before, and turns out I just did not have enough base strength to complete that whole race. I injured my knee and had to drop out on Day 4, which was devastating for me.

Dave and me, finishing our first-ever 50-mile race at Sun Mountain WA last week.

Dave and me, finishing our first-ever 50-mile race at Sun Mountain WA last week. (Photo: Glenn Tachiyama)

But since then I have worked on developing stronger muscles and joints to be able to do these long distances, and I have now completed one-day (up to 80 km) and multi-day (up to 230 km) races all over the world: India, Costa Rica, Patagonia, Guadeloupe, and of course also closer to home in British Columbia and Washington state.

Dave, on the other hand, has a huge background in endurance sports. His main event for nearly three decades has been Ironmman triathlon, which is an extreme endurance event (an almost 4 km swim, followed by a 180 km bike ride, and then a full marathon, yes, 42.2. km of running). It usually takes him around 12 hours all up. Most of that race takes place on pavement… very challenging and hard-core, but kinda boring.

This is me in aarace in Patagonia (southern Chile) last September - wind so strong I couldn't run. I was trying to minimize my wind resistance by bending over as I headed into it. (Photo: Juan Mata)

This is me in a race in Patagonia (southern Chile) last September – wind so strong I couldn’t run. I was trying to minimize my wind resistance by bending over as I headed into it. (Photo: Juan Mata)

So we’re both really happy to have converged on the world of ultrarunning. Because ultramarathon running means trails, exotic and remote locales, and adventure! And we’re going to share that world with whoever wants to come this Tuesday night. We’re doing a presentation that will include photos and videos from our races around the world, as well as a chat about just what ultramarathon running is, and what it’s about and why we do it. If you live nearby, we hope you can come: Char’s Landing, 7pm, this Tuesday May 26th. Admission is $5, and the venue is licensed (good news: you can have a drink – bad news: sorry, no minors). Hopefully we’ll see you there!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

