Scared: About to “run” (ahem) 70k in wildest Patagonia (Chile)

Wow, this’ll just be a quick note, because I am heading out to the race start very soon: for the inaugural Ultrafiord ultramarathon, here in southern Patagonia, Chile. There are 100 mile, 100k and 70k races going on. I’m running the shortest one… but it’s not that short!! Our time cut-off is 32 hours!!

Photo on 15-04-16 at 4.15 AMI’m in the town of Puerto Natales right now. Here’s a pic from the computer this morning, here at the lovely Hotel Weskar (on the water) at first light, 8:15 am. Our race starts at 8:30 tomorrow morning. So I’ll have 11 or so hours of light, then it’ll be by headlamp after that.

I had originally thought I would do it in 12 hours or so, maybe a bit more. (I did the Angel’s Staircase 60k a year and a half ago in 11:40, and I was injured then). But now that I have seen the route info, I am thinking I could be 16 hours or more.

Photo on 15-04-15 at 1.21 PMHere’s another shot from the computer showing the elevation profile. This whole profile is for the 100 mile route – if you look at the third blue stripe from the top, that is my route, the 70k. You’ll see it comprises the toughest part of the longer courses, peaking out at 1236 m.

Up there, we’ll be going past a glacier. We have to cross numerous icy streams on the way, some up to waist-deep, some of them glacier-fed, as well as one lake. That’s the part that has me most nervous of all – I don’t handle the cold well at all. Most of the race is on newly cut trail – we’l be the first people to pass through there!

Well, it may be a while before I can update this (tell you whether I made it or not). In the meantime, if you’re interested in knowing more about this race and about running in Chilean Patagonia, check out the pre-race report I wrote for RunningUltramarathons. Also, Anne-Marie Dunhill wrote a great (and very different) pre-race report for SleepMonsters. Wish me luck – I am scared! This is by far the biggest thing I have ever tackled.

  1. #1 by towhee3 on April 16, 2015 - 9:59 am

    Wow!
    Wishing you luck and strength Jackie. We’ll be thinking of you.

    Judy

  2. #3 by Gabriel Lanzillotta on May 2, 2015 - 8:52 pm

    Hola jacky, soy Gabriel Lanzillotta, nos conocimos en la carrera Ultrafiord,hemos corridos muchos km juntos y dio la casualidad que nos hospedamos en el mismo hotel el Weskar.
    Corri los 100km con el Numero 9502.
    Lamentablemente no nos pudimos despedir.
    Espero que estes bien y te felicito por la cronica de la carrera.
    Te saludo desde Buenos Aires Argentina,abrazo gigante.
    Saludos
    Gabriel
    Gabriellanzillotta@hotmail.com
    540111554291038

    • #4 by Jacqueline Windh on May 3, 2015 - 8:50 am

      Argentina!!

      Hola Gabriel, que buena escuchar de tí. Fué un placer correr contigo… Sí, muchos km juntos. Felicidades pos terminar el 100k!

      No sé si has visto – subí un reportaje de la carrera Ultrafiord en http://www.runningultramarathons.com, y cuando tenga tiempo subiré otro, mas personal, aquí. Ambos con varias fotos de tí (mi modelo) como pasamos tanto tiempo juntos.

      Otra vez, muy bueno recibir tu comentario, y ojalá nos veamos otra vez!

      Un abrazo,
      Jackie

Leave a Reply

