How about a run along the shores of Magellan Strait – Patagonia, Chile?

LDSCN0028And here I am, back in Punta Arenas, Chilean Patagonia. This is the southernmost city on the American continent (yes, Ushuaia is further south – but it’s on the island of Tierra del Fuego). I’ve spent a lot of time here in the past, but it’s been several years now since I was here. I arrived in Punta Arenas last night, after a 33 hr journey from home (car-float plane-four other flights-and car). I met my buddy Benjamín (who you will hear more about soon) for a quick bite to eat when I got in, then I slept in for 11 hrs! I was awoken by a phone call from another old friend Rodgrigo, and I met him and his new wife and hew babay for lunch (and told them about my new husband!). Then I went for a little jog along the shores of Magellan Strait… here are some pix:

Although most of the waterfront is industrail land, the city of Punta Arenas has actually done a really good job in recent years of making great walking and cycling pathways alongside the shore. The views across the strait (top photo) are of the big island of Tierra del Fuego, and othereven more remote islands farther south.

Although most of the waterfront is industrail land, the city of Punta Arenas has actually done a really good job in recent years of making great walking and cycling pathways alongside the shore. The views across the strait (top photo) are of the big island of Tierra del Fuego, and othereven more remote islands farther south.

Chile! We sure don't have this kind of nationalism back home!

Chile! We sure don’t have this kind of nationalism back home!

The bird life is really interesting, even here in the city. Here's a pile of imperial cormorants on a pier.

The bird life is really interesting, even here in the city. Here’s a pile of imperial cormorants on a pier.

Somewhat close-up of the imperial cormorants (sorry, I don't have a big lens with me).

Somewhat close-up of the imperial cormorants (sorry, I don’t have a big lens with me).

A view towards the centre of town, Punta Arenas, from the sea-path.

A view towards the centre of town, Punta Arenas, from the sea-path.

This one's for Dave. He LOVES rusty junk on our runs!

This one’s for Dave. He LOVES rusty junk on our runs!

Cool! An exercise park. (And people actually using the equipment!)

Cool! An exercise park. (And people actually using the equipment!)

Even the "boring" birds like the gulls are cool here. The ones with the yellow beaks are kelp gulls. I thought the pretty grey ones with redbeaks and legs were Heermanns gulls, a species we get on Vancouver Island. But I read that Heermanns gulls go no further south than GUatemala! So I think these are actually  dolphin gulls - quite similar to Heermanns, but with bright red feet.

Even the “boring” birds like the gulls are cool here. The ones with the yellow beaks are kelp gulls. I thought the pretty grey ones with redbeaks and legs were Heermanns gulls, a species we get on Vancouver Island. But I read that Heermanns gulls go no further south than GUatemala! So I think these are actually dolphin gulls – quite similar to Heermanns, but with bright red feet.

And more gulls - these ones brown-hooded gulls.

And more gulls – these ones brown-hooded gulls.

And, all over the place, sleeping dogs. Poor guys...

And, all over the place, sleeping dogs. Poor guys…

I’m here on a very short trip – to run the inaugural edition of the Patagonia Ultra Trail race, http://www.ultratrailtorresdelpaine.com/! There is a 67 k version and a 42 k version. I am “just” doing the short one. It’s on trails in Torres del Paine National Park, and it has rained a LOT here the last week or two, so I am told that the trails are very muddy. I was thinking of running the longer one… but given the terrain, and that I am here for such a short time (just a few days) I am going to play it safe and just run the shorter one. So, more news coming soon.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

