Shawnigan Kinsol Half-Marathon, Shawnigan Lake, October 28 2012

OK, so this is just going to be a very quick post, because I posted a full race report over on RunLive Learn. Dave and I ran the Shawnigan-Kinsol Half-Marathon on October 28, along with our fellow adventurers Malcolm and Jeannie. Here we all are at registration, in the town of Shawnigan Lake. There were prizes for costumes… and as you can see, Jeannie took this aspect of the race seriously. For me, this was an exciting race, as I knew it would be a Personal Best for me – because I have never run a half-marathon before! I am a slow runner – and that’s why I like running long. A half is a pretty short race for me to enter – but this is a fun event and a nice course, so it was the perfect time for me to give it a go.

Jeannie dressed up as… “I dream of Jeannie”! And won a prize for it!

Here’s Dave – he did really well, finished in 1:37. (Doesn’t look like he’s having much fun though, does it?) Photo courtesy of Don Carson/race organizers.

And here’s Malcolm, leading a little pack. He finished in 1:41. Photo courtesy of Don Carson/race organizers.

And me… I’m not running as well as I was last year, between illness and injury… so was pleased this time with a 2:06 finish. Photo courtesy of Don Carson/race organizers.

Dave and I actually went down to Shawnigan Lake the Friday before the race. We stayed two nights at the wonderful Dragonfly Dock B&B (highly recommended, spacious and comfy), and spent the Saturday lounging around there and then wine-tasting in the Cowichan Valley! And after the race, we all appreciated the Dragonfly’s lakeside hot tub:

Me, Dave, Jeannie and Malcolm.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

